Administration Board and Staff, Regional Advisory Board

Johnson Hall Board of Directors

Andrew Maclean, President

Andy MacLean is a 1984 graduate of Duke University and received his law degree from the University of Maine School of Law in 1991.  In 1997, he completed the Executive Program in Health Policy and Management at the Edmund S. Muskie School of Public Service at the University of Southern Maine.  Mr. MacLean has represented various health care entities or interests in legislative and regulatory matters since 1992.  Before assuming his current position, Mr. MacLean was in the private practice of law in Augusta and Portland, and on the legal staff of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Maine.  From 1992-1994, he served as Assistant Legal Counsel and the principal health policy aide to Governor John R. McKernan, Jr.   Currently a resident of Augusta, Maine, he served as Mayor of the City of Gardiner from 2007-2013.  He serves on the Board of Directors of the American Cancer Society, Inc.’s New England Division (Immediate Past Chair),  and President of the Board of Directors of the Johnson Hall Performing Arts Center.

Carolyn Gray Kimberlin, Vice President

Carolyn is the Director of Engagement and Annual Philanthropy at Colby College, where she has worked since 2003. A resident of Gardiner, Carolyn has had a life-long passion for the performing arts that began by attending theater as a child with her mother and grandmother – an experience she is already passing down to her young children and wants to see flourish in our community. Carolyn has served on the Development Committee since 2013 and the Board of Directors since 2015.

Jeff Mansir, Treasurer

Jeff is a Senior Manager at Baker Newman Noyes, a local CPA firm where he has worked since 2007.  A resident of Gardiner, Jeff’s interest in the arts began in high school performing with choral groups and as a Chizzle Wizzle End at Cony High School in Augusta.  Today, Jeff is particularly passionate about Johnson Hall’s mission and unique potential to “drive cultural and economic growth for our community”.  Jeff has served on the Finance Committee since 2012 and on the Board of Directors as Treasurer since 2015.

Danielle Moszczenski, Secretary

Danielle is the Trust Manager at Kennebec Savings Bank, where she has worked since 2007.  A long-time resident of Gardiner who moved to Augusta a year ago, Danielle maintains her commitment to helping Gardiner build a vibrant, fun downtown community through her work with Johnson Hall.  She has served on the Development Committee since 2012 and the Board of Directors and Endowment Committee since 2013.

Robert Abbey, Board Member

Robert moved to Gardiner four years ago after a long career as a public school teacher and administrator. Robert serves as the Chair of the Johnson Hall Building Committee, President of the Gardiner Main Street Board, he is on the Board of the Gardiner Public Library Association and a member of the Historic Preservation Commission. He is the co-author with Dawn Thistle of Legacy: 150 Years of Johnson Hall and believes he appeared as Professor Wormwood at the Opera House for two nights in 1897.

Dawn Thistle, Board Member

Dawn is the Special Collections Librarian and Youth Services Coordinator at the Gardiner Public Library, where she has worked since 2011.  Dawn grew up in the Gardiner area and now resides in Richmond.  She has a life-long love for the arts and is passionate about restoring their vibrant place in Gardiner's historic downtown.  Dawn has served on the Building Committee and Board of Directors since 2013. 

Patrick Wright, Board Member

Patrick has been the Executive Director of Gardiner Main Street since 2011 and is the Economic Development Coordinator for the City of Gardiner.  His passion for Johnson Hall is driven by his understanding of how the arts drives community and economic development.  His elementary age children have participated in the SPARK camp at Johnson Hall.  Patrick also serves as the chair on the Steering Committee for the Opera House Renovation.

Cindy Yachanin, Board Member

Cindy has been retired since 2008.  She was a Senior Vice President in charge of Information Technology at The Bank of Maine for 25 years.  She resides in Augusta but grew up in very musical home in Bangor. She started playing flute and singing in the 4th grade and is still singing to this day. She is very active in our community helping spread the word that performing arts helps make a community more robust and more appealing to a vibrant and growing community.


Robert Abbey, Gardiner
Carolyn Kimberlin, Gardiner
Dawn Thistle, Hallowell
Patrick Wright, Woolwich
Cindy Yachanin, Augusta


Johnson Hall Staff

Contact Staff

Michael R. Miclon, Executive/Artistic Director

Michael Miclon has been a professional entertainer since 1982.  Beginning his career as an apprentice of Benny and Denise Reehl of the New England New Vaudeville Revue and a student of Theater Master Tony Montanaro at the world-renowned Celebration Barn Theater.  Michael has performed around the world from India to South Africa , Europe and North America with such highlights as the White House and Kennedy Center in Washington D.C to Victoria Jungfrau Hotel, Interlaken, Switzerland‎. In 2000 Michael became the Executive Director of Maine Arts Inc in Portland Maine and produced the Maine Festival and New Year’s Portland.  Michael than created his own theater in Buckfield Maine called the Oddfellow Theater which he ran for fourteen years before coming to Johnson Hall.

Nicole Cooley, Director of Annual Giving & Sponsorship

Nicole Cooley is the new Director of Annual Giving and Sponsorship at Johnson Hall. Nicole worked for twelve years in corporate wellness for both MaineHealth and Hannford Brothers, Inc. as the program manager & director of corporate wellness programming. In addition, she has been the Gardiner Elementarty PTA president and co-chair for the over three years.

Pam Rideout, Box Office Manager/Volunteer Coordinator

Kathy Paradee, Bookkeeper

Johnson Hall Regional Advisory Board

(Organizations for identification only)
Nick Alberding  (Pine State Beverage)
Cynthia Murray-Beliveau
Cary Colwell
Richard Dyer (Dyer Associates PR)
Susan Farnsworth, Esq.
Kaye Flanagan
Wendy Hazard (University of Maine, Augusta)
Mark Johnston (Kennebec Savings Bank)
Alfred Lund (One Heart)
Stacey Morrison (Ganneston Construction)
Frank O’Hara  (Planning Decisions)
Roger Pomerleau  (NRF Distributors)
Nancy Rines (Kennebec County Commissioner)
Bill Sprague, Jr. (Sprague and Curtis Real Estate)
Paul Pidgeon (West Gardiner)
Peter Thompson (Kennebec Valley Chamber of Commerce)

Former Executive Directors of Johnson Hall Performing Arts Center
Judy Lloyd, 2004-2012
Beverly Broyles, 2001-2003
Stirling Kendall, 1998-2000
Sarah Fagg, 1995-97
Mott Atherholt, 1990-94 (President of Board, volunteer E.D.)